Overview more

The WHO Collaborating Centre is an institution designated by the Director-General to form part of an international collaborative network carrying out activities in support of the Organization’s programme at all levels.


WHO CCs are key institutions with relevant expertise distributed throughout the world. They represent a valuable resource as an extended and integral arm of WHO’s capacity to implement its mandated work.


The WHO CCs are a highly valued mechanism of cooperation in which selected institutions are recognized by WHO to assist the Organization with implementing its mandated work. This is accomplished by supporting the achievement of planned strategic objectives at the regional and global levels; enhancing the scientific validity of its global health work; and developing and strengthening institutional capacity in countries and regions.

The WHO Collaborating Centre for the Prevention of Blindness is an organization that promotes activities and supports projects implementation for the prevention and treatment of blindness worldwide through the establishment of an international cooperation network. At present, there are 10 centers globally.

With the vigorous assistance of the National Health Commission and the World Health Organization, the designation of National Institute of Hospital Administration (NIHA) as the WHO CC was approved by WHO Geneva and NIHA was formally appointed on March 20, 2019.

The terms of reference for NIHA as WHO CC are as follows:

1. Under WHO’s leadership, to develop and implement sustainable eye care service to children through school health services in low-income counties;

2. To assess accessibility of eye care service with a focus on diabetes and Diabetic Retinopathy using the tool developed by WHO (TADDS); and

3. To provide quality comprehensive eye care in resource scarce settings.
WHO Documents more
Activities Implemented more
Data to Download more